Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins...

...And Ends!


It just so happens that I have an exciting thing to share AND Substack has added video downloads to the posts, so here goes!

📌 For those enjoying the new audio feature, I will be doing more of that. There has been a problem with recording for the past several days, and I have a request for support to fix it.



Sunday, I completed my fourth calendar year 1,000-mile running journey. In 2022 I have now run 1,003 miles and will keep going.

I did this two years, and it was a milestone I didn't think was possible recovering from Covid where I couldn't even walk a mile for months.

It didn't become a goal until it was clear there would be no races to run in 2020.

I kept running even when it was hard and was terrible at it. Then in July, I realized both that I had recovered and put in enough work that maybe, just maybe, I could hit 1,000.

It was a bit of a spiritual journey for me as well, pushing through doubts, failure, and illness.


Last year was going to be different. At the close of 2020, I had fully recovered and hit my best fitness level ever, as rated by V02Max.

I was going to have my best running year ever!

💥 Then I injured my neck, unrelated to running, and missed 8 weeks of running. To hit 1,000 miles in a year, you must average 2.74 miles daily.

Take one day off, and that has to be made up. Miss 8 weeks, and you fall behind over 150 miles.


Intention


My word for 2021 was intention. I learned the value of intention and acceptance in that running year. Through disappointment and frustration of injury, I ran with intention and acceptance.

I kept at it while allowing for proper rest and for days when the body or lungs weren’t ready for a long run.

➡️ I gave myself permission to have ‘terrible’ runs and even to not make 1,000 if that was how things went.


Create


This year was thankfully injury and illness free. My focus word was ‘create,’ and it was a year of creative running.

I worked with my doctor to create healthy conditions for running outside and controlling my cold-induced asthma.

✅ I ran all my miles outside for the first time, even on the coldest days.

Many of you will remember my ‘dry season’ without the joy running typically brings me. Working through that provided personal growth as well.

I learned so much more about myself.  I will explore all I’ve learned over the past three years with an upcoming article.
 
Today I wanted to share this moment with you, the many who have cheered me on along the way.
 
🌀 Let it be an encouragement, if the ol' white-haired Ikigai Guy can stretch himself and overcome, you can too.

0 Comments
Ikiquest
Ikiquest
Authors
David Marlow